Making Connections as Lifelong Learners

While attending ASCD’s Ignite Conference in Irving, TX today and listening to Eric Sheninger speak on Creating Schools That Work for Kids  and catching the second half of Digital Leadership and the Educational Landscape, my mind jumped to a quote from a book I’m reading. Mr. Sheninger was talking on changes we need in our schools and challenged educators with this question, “Would you want to be in your colleagues’ classroom?” He later talked about Free Range Learning and Twitter as a PLN.

The book I am reading is Teach Like a Pirate by Dave Burgess. The quote that stood out to me while reading prompting me to mark it and that came to mind during this presentation is, “Resist any movement that attempts to clone teachers and lessons and instead rejoice in the fact that it is your individuality and uniqueness that will always lead  you to become the most effective teacher you can be.” If your soul did not just leap for joy, reread that quote! Being the rebel or shall I say pirate that I have always been, I get really excited about that statement. Mr. Burgess put into words how I’ve always felt and what has been my natural path. I have never played Candy Crush. Why? Everyone else was dong it!

The theme of the presentation by Mr. Sheninger was moving away from control and compliance toward authentic learning or Free Range Learning. In speaking of Twitter PLN, I’ve previously blogged on how important it is. I would also goes as far as say that I would want to be in my #tlap Tweeps’ classrooms any day; which I cannot say for all of my coworkers over the years!

So, educators I challenge you to be your authentic self, share your passion and blaze your own trail. Because there are no roads were you are going!

Leave a Reply

